HOMEWORK HELP
Online Databases for Kids
|
 |
Online
Databases for Kids
Find even more databases and ideas on how to use them:
Databases for
Teens
Find Articles
and More (Adults)
|
What is an Online Database?
We subscribe so you can find
reliable & current magazine & encyclopedia articles, photos, maps, &
more!
How do I use Online
Databases?
You can
access them in the Library or from home using your Strathcona County Library
card.
Use our tips below to help you choose the best databases for
your project!
Having
trouble logging in? See our
login instructions.
Database
List
Click to find out more information and to
see an example of how you might use each database in a homework
assignment.
Canadian Encyclopedia
Up-to-the-minute information about our country. Over 10,000 articles with
lots of links and feature articles.
Good for questions like:
Where did the
explorer Paul Kane travel in Canada?
Can you help me find
information about the Canadian shield. |
|
New Book of Knowledge
Articles, facts, maps and more from the print version of this
reference resource.
Good for questions like:
What were the Seven
Wonders of the Ancient World?
I need to find out
about the life cycle of sharks. |
Amazing Animals of the World
Animal profiles, photographs, and
more.
Good for questions like:
What types of animals live in the rain forest?
How heavy is an African Elephant? |
|
New Book of Popular Science
Science, medicine, and technology
articles, images, charts, and other resources.
Good for questions like:
I'm doing a project
on simple machines and I need some pictures.
Can you help me find
information and diagrams about volcanoes? |
Grolier
Online
Homework help through encyclopedia or magazine articles, websites,
pictures, maps, and videos in the following resources:
Amazing Animals of the World
Animal profiles, photographs, and more |
|
The New Book of Knowledge
Reference and current events |
Lands and Peoples
Countries, cultures, and current events |
|
New Book of Popular Science
Science & technology plus science in the news |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Novelist
Read-alikes and suggestions for what to read next. Search for
titles, authors, plots, and reading preferences.
Good for questions like:
Do you have any
reading suggestions for me? I'm in Grade 5 and I'm looking for
something funny.
I
really like books like the 39 Clues series but I've read them
already. Can you help me find something just like them? |
Scholastic
BookFLIX
A new online
literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related
non-fiction eBooks to build a love of reading and learning. |
|
Tumblebooks
TumbleBooks are
animated, talking picture books that you can read, or have read to you.
Tumblebooks are ideal for beginning readers and include titles in French
and Spanish. |
Lands
and Peoples
Countries, cultures, and current events.
Good for questions like:
Where can I find information about the culture and people of
Thailand?
How many languages are spoken in Europe? |
|
World Book Online
Atlas info, charts, animations,
articles and related web links from the electronic version of World
Book encyclopedia.
Good for questions like:
I want to read about
knights in the Middle Ages.
I need to write about
the people and culture of Guatemala.
|
L'Encyclopédie
Découverte

Discover the French edition of World Book Encyclopedia.
Good for questions like:
À quoi sert le jabot d'une abeille?
J'aimerais de l'information au sujet du magnétisme.
|
|
Alberta
Learning's Online Reference Centre
Several excellent
databases (SIRS Discover, Big Chalk eLibrary, Grolier Online, and the
Electric Library) are available to Alberta K-12 students through the
Learn Alberta website.
In order to access the databases (which are free of charge), students must
first obtain a UserID and Password from your teacher.
|
back to top
|