|
Where Can I Find It?
The Children’s French area is
located in a special spot in the Discovery Zone. In the Children’s French area you will find read along kits,
CDs and cassettes, videos and DVDs, paperback and hardcover fiction, picture
books, beginning reader books and information (non-fiction) books. The
information books, videos and DVDs are the most useful materials for
students working on French homework assignments.
back to top
|
Find What You Need

While the titles and publishing information of Children’s
French materials are catalogued in French, the subject
headings are catalogued in English. This means that if you
are looking for Children’s French information books on
stars, you would have to do an English search.
For example, a keyword search using the words stars
juvenile literature would retrieve a list of children’s
information books, in both French and English, about stars.
Adding the words juvenile literature to any keyword
search will limit your search to children’s information
books.
Children’s French and English information
books have very similar call numbers. French call numbers
contain the letters FR. For example, J 567.9 is a call
number for English dinosaur books and J FR 567.9 is a call
number for French dinosaur books. |
back to top
|
Online Databases and
Encyclopedias
 |
Canadian
Encyclopedia Online
Up-to-the-minute information about our country. Over
10,000 articles with lots of links and feature articles.
Click on "Francais" in the top right corner for the French version. |
World Book Online
- Encyclopedie Decouverte
The French version of the World Book online
encyclopedia.
Offers in-depth information on a variety of subjects. A
good resource especially for pictures, biographical, & historical
information. |
back to top
|
Websites & Other Online Resources
 |
Alberta Learning's Online Reference Centre
www.learnalberta.ca |
|
Several
excellent French resources (the Eureka and Repére
databases, as well as curriculum related games and
exercises) are available to Alberta K-12 students
through the Learn Alberta website.
In
order to access the databases (which are free of
charge), students must first obtain a UserID and
Password from your teacher. Then, check out all
the great resources that are available to you! |
L' Atlas Du Canada
http://atlas.gc.ca/site/francais/index.html
An online collection of maps and related information about Canada.
Babel Fish Translation
http://world.altavista.com
An easy-to-use translation tool provided by the Altavista search engine.
Canadian Parents for French - French Education Links
www.cpf.ca/English/Parents/Study%20Aids.htm
Links to online encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, grammar and
translation sites, and exchange/trip information.
L’Encyclopédie Canadienne
www.canadianencyclopedia.ca/
A comprehensive and authoritative source of information on all things
Canadian.
French Accents for the PC
www.afgs.org/faccents.html
How to get your keyboard and word processor to type and display French
accents and characters.
Google
www.google.ca/
Click on “Français” to use this popular search engine in French.
Momes
http://www.momes.net/index.html
From France, divided into sections with links for books, music,
dictionaries, parents, homework and school.
back to top
|
Great Books for French Homework Projects
 |
034.1
LEN |
L'
Encyclopedie Decouverte de World Book
World Book, 2009.
A
16-volume, illustrated, A-Z general reference encyclopedia for students
in the primary grades or for those
learning French as a second language. Includes guide words,
pronunciations, an atlas of world maps and a cumulative index. |
443.21
COR |
Le Nouveau Dictionnaire Visuel Junior by Jean-Claude Corbeil.
Québec
Amérique,
2003.
A French-English dictionary with helpful illustrations and diagrams.
Quebec French to English. |
443.21
DIC |
Dictionnaire CEC Jeunesse.
Centre Éducatif et Culturel, 1992.
This
comprehensive
French dictionary for children contains illustrations,
charts, maps, and a gazetteer. |
520
MIL |
Le Grand Livre de L'Astronomie Avec Liens Internet by Lisa Miles.
Héritage, 2003.
An
exciting look into the galaxy, complete with helpful web
links. |
591
MAP |
Ma Premiere Encyclopedie des Animaux by Geneviève
DeBecker-Warnau.
Editions Scholastic, 2005.
A Canadian encyclopedia of the animal world. |
912
GRA |
Le Grand Atlas Du Canada Et Du Monde by Rudolphe de Konick.
De Boeck & Larcier, 2002.
A comprehensive atlas with great Canadian coverage. |
971
DAW |
Le Canada: Son Histoire Jusqu'au Vingtieme Siecle by Ismail Dawood.
Les Éditions
Duval, 1993.
Outlines Canada's history, from our nations first aboriginal
inhabitants to the end of the 20th century. |
971
GRE |
À LA Decouverte du Canada by Barbara Greenwood.
Héritage Jeunesse,
2004.
Provides essential facts, maps, coats of
arms, and historical timelines for each Canadian province
and territory. |
back to top
|
|
Read & recommended by SCL
Youth Services staff
Revised October 2010
|
|
STRATHCONA COUNTY LIBRARY | (780) 410-8600
401 Festival Lane, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada T8A 5P7
|