CONTACT US

Open today: | Detailed Hours

Help | Log In

Advanced Search
Site Search

Classic Catalogue
Mobile Catalogue

Find books, music, movies, and more:

Trees of Alberta
PDF (printer-friendly) version of this pathfinder
Subject Headings
Use the following headings to search the library catalog by Subject or Search ALL.

Hint: Adding "juvenile literature" to a search will limit your search to children's information books.

  • Plants - Identification
  • Shrubs - Alberta
  • Shrubs - Canada
  • Trees - Alberta
  • Trees - Canada
  • Trees - Identification

back to top

Call Numbers
Browse these general areas in the information books (arranged by Dewey Decimal numbers).

Hint:  Call numbers with a J in front refer to Juvenile (Children's) information books.

Find information on:

J 581.9712 - J 581.978 Tree identification and information books for certain parts of Alberta (i.e. Rocky Mountains).
J 582.16 - J 582.160973 Tree identification guides for all of Canada or North America, not just Alberta.
Hint: It is a good idea to browse the information books that begin with J 581 and J 582 . To find books about forests and forest ecology look at the call number range J 577.3 - J 577.37.

back to top

Online Databases and Encyclopedias
Grolier Online
Online versions of these excellent print encyclopedias. Search for encyclopedia & magazine articles, websites, pictures, maps, and videos.

back to top

Recommended Websites

Council of Forest Industries Forestry Links
http://www.cofi.org/library_and_resources/default.htm
This link library will point you to a lot of great forest and tree information websites.

Heritage Tree Foundation of Alberta
http://heritagetreefoundation.com/
As a registered not for profit Foundation, The Alberta Heritage Tree Project will identify and catalogue Heritage Trees throughout the Province. These trees offer a representative sample of species that grow within various regions and individual communities.

Real Trees 4 Kids!
www.realtrees4kids.org/
Tree and forestry information can be found on this site designed especially for kids.  Learn about scientific names and view a cross-section of a coniferous tree to determine its age.

The Tree Book
www.for.gov.bc.ca/hfd/library/documents/treebook/
This online book will help you identify trees found in western Canada (Alberta and British Columbia). Lots of pictures and maps of the regions where each tree can be found.

Tree Fact Sheets
www.cnr.vt.edu/dendro/dendrology/factsheets.cfm
Use the database on this website to find information and lots of great pictures. Try searching for trees by province using the Clickable Species Map.

Trees of the Pacific Northwest
http://oregonstate.edu/trees
This site has an interactive question and answer key that will help you identify conifers (trees or shrubs with cones and needle leaves). If you have a specific conifer that you need information for, just check out the "Conifers" link.

Natural Regions of Alberta
http://www.abheritage.ca/abnature/map.htm
The Heritage Community Foundation presents information about Alberta's natural regions, which includes information about the trees in each region.

Forests of Alberta
http://srd.alberta.ca/BioDiversityStewardship/Forests/Default.aspx
From Alberta Sustainable Resources, this site includes information about the different forest regions of Alberta including a description of Alberta's provincial tree, the Lodgepole Pine. 

back to top

Recommended Books

Children's Information:

J 582.16
PET
A Field Guide to Western Trees by George A. Petrides.
Houghton Mifflin, 1998.
J 582.16
TRE
Trees by Deborah Lambert.
Weigl Educational, 2010.
J 582.1609
PET
A Field Guide to Trees and Shrubs by George A. Petrides
Houghton Mifflin, 1972.
J 582.160971
LAU
Identification Guide to the Trees of Canada by Jean Lauriault
Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1989.
J 582.160971
MAS
Canadian Trees by Colleayn Mastin
Grasshopper, 1994.
J 635.935
BIT
Timber Press Pocket Guide to Conifers by Richard L. Bitner. 
Timber Press, 2010.   

Adult Non-Fiction:

574.97123
KAV
Nature Alberta by James Kavanaugh.
Lone Pine Publishing, 1991.
581.9712
JOH
Plants of the Western Boreal Forest and Aspen Parkland by Derek Johnson.
Lone Pine Publishing, 1995.
581.978
KER
Plants of the Rocky Mountains by Linda Kershaw.
Lone Pine Publishing, 1998.
582.16097
BEN
Encyclopedia of Trees: Canada and the United States by Sam Benvie.
Key Porter Books, 1999.
582.16097123
WIL
Trees and Shrubs of Alberta: A Habitat Field Guide by Kathleen Wilkinson.
Lone Pine Publishing, 1990.

 

back to top

Read & recommended by SCL Youth Services staff
Revised October 2010

STRATHCONA COUNTY LIBRARY | (780) 410-8600
401 Festival Lane, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada T8A 5P7