HOMEWORK HELP
Online Databases
|
What is an Online Database?
Find quick, reliable information that you can
count on. Articles, reviews, news, images, and more.
How do I use Online
Databases?
You can
access them in the Library or from home using your Strathcona County Library
card.
Use our tips below to help you choose the best databases for
your project!
Having
trouble logging in? See our
login instructions.
Database
List
Click to find out more information and to
see an example of how you might use each database in a homework
assignment.
Alberta
Learning's Online Reference Center
Find out more about these resources
for Alberta students.
|
Articles and short multimedia presentations on Canadian history and
social studies topics for students 8 and up.
Good for questions like:
Where did the
explorer Paul Kane travel in Canada?
Can you help me find
information about the Canadian shield.
back to top |
|
GreenFILE
Journal articles on all aspects of human impact on the enrivonment,
including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable
agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Good for questions like:
What can you tell me
about alternative energy sources?
Where can I learn
about water quality testing?
|
|
Canadian Newsstand
Full text articles from major Canadian newspapers.
Good for questions like:
How can I read an
article that was published in the Calgary Herald last year?
I want to find out
how people in other provinces feel about the Edmonton Oilers. |
|
Grolier Online
Homework help through encyclopedia or magazine articles, websites,
pictures, maps, and videos in the following resources:
Encyclopedia Americana
In-depth info for older students |
|
New Book of Popular Science
Science & technology plus science in the news |
Lands and Peoples
Countries, cultures, and current events |
|
The New Book of Knowledge
Reference and current events |
La Neuva Enciclopedia Cumbre
In Spanish
|
|
|
|
|
Articles from major
Canadian journals, biographies & other reference sources.
Good for questions like:
I want to read about
the beef industry in Canada.
I need to look up
information and ratings about new mp3 players compared with iPods.
back to top |
|
Lands and Peoples
Countries, cultures, and current events
Good for questions like:
Where can I find
information about the culture and people of Thailand?
How many languages
are spoken in Europe? |
|
Canadian
Points of View Reference Centre (CPOV)
Multiple perspectives on
news & current events.
Good for questions like:
What are some different
ways of looking at immigration?
How do I create an
essay outline? |
|
MagillOnLiterature Plus
Plot summaries, character & author info, and critical analyses of
literary works. Includes material from the Masterplots and Magill
reference series.
Good for questions like:
I need to compare two
of Margaret Atwood's works.
I have to write a
paper on the character of Pip from Dickens' Great Expectations.
|
CREDOreference
Reference books covering a wide range
of subjects including history, technology, literature, art, and
biography.
Good for questions like:
Where does the quote
"People ought to listen more slowly" come from?
Where can I find
paintings by Francis Oliver Finch?
|
|
New Book of Knowledge
Articles, facts, maps and more from the print version of this
reference resource.
Good for questions like:
What were the Seven
Wonders of the Ancient World?
I need to find out
about the life cycle of sharks. |
Encyclopedia Americana
In-depth articles and biographical
profiles.
Good for questions like:
Can you help me find
biographical information about Martin Luther King and Malcolm X?
I need to find
information about the Black Death.
back to top |
|
New Book of Popular Science
Science, medicine, and technology
articles, images, charts, and other resources.
Good for questions like:
I'm doing a project
on simple machines and I need some pictures.
Can you help me find
information and diagrams about volcanoes? |
L'Encyclopédie
Découverte

Discover the French edition of World Book
Encyclopedia.
Good for questions like:
À quoi sert le jabot d'une abeille?
J'aimerais de l'information au sujet du magnétisme.
|
|
Novelist
Read-alikes and suggestions for what to read next. Search for
titles, authors, plots, and reading preferences.
Good for questions like:
Do you have any
reading suggestions for me? I'm in Gr. 8 and I'm looking for
something funny.
I'm on the waiting
list for Breaking Dawn. Is there something similar I can read in the
meantime? |
Environment Complete
All aspects of Environment
including ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution and waste
management.
Good for questions like:
Is climate change
affecting the coral reefs?
Can you show me some
articles on energy conservation? |
|
PressDisplay
Today's news from over 300 newspapers
and magazines in their original format, from over 60 countries and
in 35 languages.
Good for questions like:
What are the
headlines in Italy today?
Are international
incidents reported differently by the American, Canadian, and
European press? |
Film and Television Literature
Index
Journal articles, movie reviews, books, and images.
Good for questions like:
Can I find some
photographs of Marilyn Monroe?
Can you help me
research "Stranger than Fiction?"
back to top |
|
World Book Online
Atlas info, charts, animations,
articles and related web links from the electronic version of World
Book encyclopedia. Material suitable for all ages.
Good for questions like:
I want to read about
what the knights did in the Middle Ages.
I need to write about
the people and culture of Guatamala. |
|
General Reference Center Gold
Articles on general subjects like
current events, popular culture, art and science, hobbies and
recreation. Primarily American content.
Good for questions like:
I am looking for
information about DVD standards.
I want to read about
actor Johnny Depp. |
|
|
back to top
|